Relay Connecticut
7-1-1 Dialing
Relay Numbers
Why Relay?
Advisory Board












About Telecommunications Relay Service (TRS)
Signed into law on July 26 1990, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is a wide-ranging legislation intended to make the American Society more accessible to people with disabilities.

As shown in the Americans with Disabilities Act - Title IV, it says telecommunications companies offering telephone service to the general public must make available telephone relay service to individuals who use TTYs or similar devices.

During July 1993, the Department of Public Utility approved Sprint's offer for Connecticut Relay service based on recommendations from the Telecommunications Relay Service Task Force. Then, Sprint renewed its relay service in 1997 with the Department of Public Utility for five (5) years.

Sprint has provided telephone relay services since 1990. At present, Sprint serve over 30 states, Puerto Rico and the switchboard for Federal Government in Washington, D.C. There are 11 Relay Centers throughout the U.S.A.